Sunday, March 19, 2017

Review: Traveler by L.E. DeLano





Jessa has spent her life dreaming of other worlds and writing down stories more interesting than her own, until the day her favorite character, Finn, suddenly shows up and invites her out for coffee. After the requisite nervous breakdown, Jessa learns that she and Finn are Travelers, born with the ability to slide through reflections and dreams into alternate realities. But it’s not all steampunk pirates and fantasy lifestyles—Jessa is dying over and over again, in every reality, and Finn is determined that this time, he’s going to stop it…This Jessa is going to live.

Series: Traveler #1

Source: Netgalley 

Format: ebook
Pages: 352
Genre: YA Fantasy + Romance

Rating: 2 Stars
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Release Date: 7th February 2017


My Thoughts...
I thought I was in a reading slump...but come to find out nope, no reading slump here. I just COULD NOT connect with the story, characters, worldbuilding...nope, no connections to anything in this one.  I wanted oh so much to love this book, I mean the synopsis sounds freaking amazing! 

The writing was okay. The first few chapters were actually pretty fun. Around the fourth or fifth chapter, I felt like the same plot kept getting repeated over and over... (and not in a good way but a hugely BORING way.) 


The characters were mostly one-dimensional. I'm not sure how to explain it. They were good characters but felt devoid of realism, for me they all fell flat. 

Well, that's all I have to say about this book. Did you read Traveler? I noticed this book has a fairly good rating on Goodreads and just because it wasn't for me you may like this one, don't let me scare you away!  
Read more »

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Waiting On Wednesday: Roar by Cora Carmack

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine , that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. Check them out for links to more blogs! :)

This week's pre-publication "can't wait to read" selection is...





In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage.

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.

Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.
Why I'm Waiting
Magic, Prophecies, and Bravery! Oh and I'm sure there's some romance in there too! I loved Cora's New Adult novel Losing It and I'm sure to love this YA fantasy of hers!
Read more »

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Cover Reveal + ARC copies! : A Curse of Stone and Moonlight by Ashley Maker






Sixteen-year-old Adele never asked for immortality.

Cursed to become a marble statue in a private art gallery, Adele is at the mercy of a wicked sorcerer’s quest for revenge and something even more sinister. With her freedom hanging in the balance, she must decide whether to succumb to Wilmont’s repulsive wishes or remain frozen as just another piece of art in a chilling collection.

The only thing keeping her from going mad is a promise to her mother and curiosity about the other statues in the gallery, especially the one taking the likeness of Wilmont’s tragically lost son. Adele cannot help but wonder if he is human like her, imprisoned beneath marble skin. She vows to find out the truth and escape before it’s too late and she’s trapped forever.

Series: Enchanted Short Story Series (part #1)

Genre: YA Fantasy + Romance


Attention: 
The author will be giving out ARC e-copies if you're interested in reviewing this book! All you have to do is message her on any of her social media accounts! I've posted them all below her bio. 

About Ashley...
Under the Trees is Ashley Maker’s debut novel. When she’s not working on her next book, Ashley spends much of her time procrastinating on social media, relaxing with her husband and two daughters, and writing companion songs on her acoustic guitar. She has a bachelor’s degree in English, worked a short stint as a book editor, and lives in a small town in Oklahoma.

Read more »

Sunday, March 5, 2017

March's Monthly TBR



My goal last month was to read a whopping eight books. I ended up reading 3 and a half. I worked a lot more hours than I had anticipated at my job and things have been hectic lately. For the month of March I'm going to add most of the books I didn't get to in February and that's pretty much it besides a short story. On Monday I'll be taking on a new department at work and for the next two to three months my attention will be focused on getting that together. Hopefully, everything pans out and my expected timeline works out. 

Well, without further ado here's my TBR for the month of March...


Read more »

Book Blast & Giveaway: Beauty's Thief by Konstanz Silverbow





Not every monster has claws—not every beauty is kind.

Born a princess, raised to be queen, but living as a servant, Avalyn never realized she would pay the price for her father’s mistakes. Now Avalyn is living in a castle not her own, a slave to an evil witch who wants revenge on the man who betrayed her trust and ruined her.

For Avalyn, her real punishment has yet to begin.

She will be cursed to work for the witch for the next one hundred years unless true love can find its way into the castle and into her heart.

Now the princess’s freedom rests in the hands of a lowly thief who cares only for himself.

Series: Finding Gold #4

Genre: Fantasy 

Release Date: January 2017


Author Bio...

Konstanz Silverbow has always been a dreamer . . . but not a writer. Being an author was something she was dragged into. But since that day, she hasn’t stopped. It has become more than a hobby, it is a passion.

During the day Konstanz works, making jewelry, playing the violin, collecting dragons, and learning all she can about medieval weapons. But at night she creates made up worlds and places where those dragons come to life and the weapons are used in battle.”

Proud Creator of magical worlds, fictional creatures, ideal super heroes and sarcasm since 2007!

Giveaway...
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Read more »

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Waiting On Wednesday: The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine , that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. Check them out for links to more blogs! :)

This week's pre-publication "can't wait to read" selection is...
Release Date: July 18th 2017



No one is entirely certain what brings the Emperor Sikander to Shalingar. Until now, the idyllic kingdom has been immune to his many violent conquests. To keep the visit friendly, Princess Amrita has offered herself as his bride, sacrificing everything—family, her childhood love, and her freedom—to save her people. But her offer isn't enough.

The unthinkable happens, and Amrita finds herself a fugitive, utterly alone but for an oracle named Thala, who was kept by Sikander as a slave and managed to escape amid the chaos of a palace under siege. With nothing and no one else to turn to, Amrita and Thala are forced to rely on each other. But while Amrita feels responsible for her kingdom and sets out to warn her people, the newly free Thala has no such ties. She encourages Amrita to go on a quest to find the fabled Library of All Things, where it is possible for each of them to reverse their fates. To go back to before Sikander took everything from them.

Stripped of all that she loves, caught between her rosy past and an unknown future, will Amrita be able to restore what was lost, or does another life—and another love—await?

A story about a girl who's on a quest to save her Kingdom? Yes, please! What upcoming releases are you waiting on?
Read more »

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Mini Review: The Dragon's Price by Bethany Wiggins





When two warring kingdoms unified against a deadly menace laying waste to both their lands, they had to make a choice: vow to marry their heirs to one another, or forfeit their lives to the dragon.

Centuries later, everyone expects the sheltered princess Sorrowlynn to choose the barbarian prince over the fire-breathing beast—everyone, that is, except Sorrow, who is determined to control her own destiny or die trying.

As she is lowered into the dragon’s chamber, she assumes her life is over until Golmarr, the young prince she just spurned, follows her with the hopes of being her hero and slaying the dragon. But the dragon has a different plan. . . .

If the dragon wins, it will be freed from the spell that has bound it to the cave for centuries. If Sorrow or Golmarr vanquish the dragon, the victor will gain its treasure and escape the cave beneath the mountain. But what exactly is the dragon hiding?

There are no safe havens for Sorrow or Golmarr—not even with each other—and the stakes couldn’t be higher as they risk everything to protect their kingdom.

Series: Transference #1

Source: Netgalley 

Format: ebook
Pages: 304
Genre: YA Fantasy + Romance

Rating: 3.5 Stars
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: 21st February 2017


My Thoughts...
I loved the storyline, the characters, and the romance! The pacing was a tad slow so it did take me quite a few days to get through this one. About 60% of the way in though it really picked up and I read the remainder in one sitting!

My favorite thing about this book was the romance. It certainly has a Cinderella/Ever After vibe going on. Imagine if Cinderella knew how to fight, well that's Sorrowlynn, the main character in this book. Golmarr is absolutely perfect for her!

I will say that I did guess the ending pretty early on. I was a little disappointed but on the plus side, I like the direction that book two will be going in!


Read more »

Monday, February 27, 2017

Blog Tour {Excerpt & Giveaway}Awakening: Bloodline by Tiera Rice






Being royal comes with lots of expectations. Born into war as a Vampyre Witch, she has to battle the ultimate enemy: her own blood. When she has a terrifying Vision, Antanasia fights harder than ever to prevent it from coming to pass. Will she succeed? Or does she die trying?

Nadia is an average teenager celebrating her nineteenth birthday. But her day turns upside down when she starts developing unusual abilities that make her question everything she knew. Searching for answers to her predicament, she finds herself trusting Nicolae, a stranger with a familiar presence. Why does she feel so drawn to him? Will Nadia find answers to the questions about her past and take on her new role willingly? Or will she choose to remain in the dark and deny her destiny?

Series: Bloodline #1

Genre: Fantasy, New Adult, Paranormal

Publisher: Eula Rae Printing & Publishing
Release Date: 12th October 2016

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo
Author Bio...
Tiera Rice was raised in Rockland County, New York and is a realtor in Rockland, Westchester, and Orange Counties. She earned her degree in criminal justice from Temple University, is the founder of Laughter and Lemonade: a project that focuses on motivational posters for those experiencing a chronic illness, and co-founder of #26forTiera: a foundation that provides financial resources to single parents battling life-threatening illnesses.
A creator of poems and short-stories for many years, Tiera challenged herself by leaping into the world of novels. Having recently survived a battle with cancer, Tiera decided to use her writing to entertain and motivate her readers. When not writing or selling houses, Tiera can be found spending time with her friends and family, especially her young daughter, fish, and kitty cat. Her other interests include singing, drawing, and dancing.
Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Excerpt...
CHAPTER ONE
Brăila, Wallachia
1480
My head swung from left to right, golden-amber eyes searching for anyone who could be lurking in the trees. Aside from the ruffling of leaves in the gentle wind, there was no other movement and all was quiet. I slowly rose from the murky water, weighed down by my bow and quiver, and rushed to hide behind a large bush.
It was a crisp cool evening and I shivered underneath my damp clothing before crouching as low as I could comfortably go. As I was reaching for my bow, I suffered a blow to the head and bit my tongue as my head snapped towards my sternum. I was propelled forward and landed on an upturned piece of bark jutting from a nearby tree. The bark jammed into my stomach, knocking the wind out of me, and I staggered as I pushed myself to my feet.
Warm wetness trickled down my neck, and I winced as my fingers pressed against the deep gash in my head. My fingers were covered in the stickiness of blood. I scowled at Fabian.
“Was that really necessary?”
“You have to be on guard at all times,” he said. “There was no reason why you shouldn’t have sensed me coming.”
I rolled my eyes and sighed in annoyance. “I was on guard—I knew you were coming,” I fibbed.
He narrowed his eyes at me. “I could see you from a distance—you were complacent.”
I groaned. “Ugh—it is the eve of my Vârstă de Maturitate, surely this allows me time to rest?”
His eyes softened only just. “Antanasia, I don’t mean to be harsh, but rest is awarded when deserved, regardless of the day.”
I frowned, “I know…”
“As a member of the Brotherhood, you have an obligation to make sure you are prepared at all times. The Order’s Vampyres are powerful, and merely hiding behind a bush is not enough to stop them. Think of the risk your mother took to make sure you were safe, and all those who weren’t able to be saved.”
I nodded and stood up straighter—he was right. When the Vampyre king had gone mad, he used the Order to satisfy his new obsession: destroying the human race, whether by slaughtering or placing it in chains. The Brotherhood had seen a victory three years ago when they killed the mad king, but his death only added fuel to the fire—his son was even more motivated to see the plan carried out; I couldn’t let him succeed.
Fabian smiled. “Just a little while longer—you’re nearly there.”
I returned his smile and nodded. Just then, the hairs on the back of my neck stood up. I quickly nocked an arrow and pulled my arm back in a draw as I turned towards the male figure that was flying at me. I aimed and released the arrow, then immediately started running in the opposite direction, unsure of who was after me but knowing that an arrow wasn’t enough to stop him.

XBTBanner1
Read more »

Sunday, February 19, 2017

Review: Cashmere by Temple West





This high-stakes sequel to Velvet proves that when you’re the only human caught in a paranormal war, high school can get a little tricky. With Adrian’s brother trapped in hell, the Praetorian Guard has made Stony Creek their base-of-operations, but Caitlin has a bad feeling they’re more interested in her than in finding Lucian. Caught in a sea of conspiracies and lies, Caitlin and Adrian perform a risky magical procedure in an attempt to protect Caitlin from compulsion.

Relieved that her nightmares have ended, Caitlin is disturbed to find that something even stranger has taken their place.

Determined to get on with her life, even amid a crazy paranormal manhunt, she applies for a competitive summer fashion internship in New York. Searching desperately for answers about what Caitlin might be, how Adrian’s father is involved, and where Lucian has been kidnapped to, Caitlin and Adrian must rely on each other to survive. But when the truth finally comes to light, the consequences are unimaginable.

And the question still haunts them both: even if they survive, how will they deal with the fact that Adrian is immortal and Caitlin is not?

Series: Velvet Trilogy #2

Source: Netgalley & In Media Res

Format: ebook
Pages: 310
Genre: YA Paranormal Romance

Rating: 6 Stars
Publisher: In Medias Res
Release Date: 14th February 2017


My Thoughts...
Velvet was one of my favorite reads of 2015 and ever since, I've been yearning for the second book, Cashmere. Luckily Netgalley had this one as a Read Now option and I jumped at the chance to read this baby. Let me tell ya, if you, like me loved Velvet then you'll be blown away by Cashmere

The worldbuilding was astounding in Velvet and the author, Temple West did a great job building off of that and making the world inside of Cashmere even bigger, more detailed than the previous book, sharper if you will. Maybe I'm jumping the gun but this makes me super excited for the third book!  If she follows in the same footsteps (which I'm sure she will because she's amazingly talented!), doubled with the ending, the worldbuilding will be huge! And I can't forget to mention, there's some pretty awesome science that explains some things, especially about vampires that made this book even more appealing. 

Of course, my favorite thing about Cashmere are the characters. West does a fantastic job fleshing out her characters and really bringing them to life. From the main characters all the way to the most minute of characters, they were all great! 

That brings me to the epic, yes EPIC romance inside the wonderful pages of Cashmere. Caitlin and Adrian are the epitome of everything I desire in a fictional couple. Their feelings for each other are truly heartfelt and of course, the romantic scenes are searingly swoon-worthy! Of course, it wouldn't be Cashmere if we didn't have some added snark to go with the romance...

"Try some other flavors, kid, I guarantee you Adrian is not the hottest shit out there."
"I don't care if he's the hottest shit," I muttered, "he's my shit."

I wish I could mention EVERYTHING that makes this book awesome but I'd be spoiling all of the fun for you, and well, I'm sure you want to have fun while reading this one, so I'll let you discover all of the amazingness yourself! Wow, that was one long sentence! I will say that Caitlin and Adrian go through some pretty serious situations. I ugly cried during a particular scene. Ahh, I wish I could share it with you! If you've read this one or are wanting to I'd love to chat fangirl over Cashmere with you! 

Cashmere Trailer ...
Read more »

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Waiting On Wednesday: Trickery by Jaymin Eve

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine , that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. Check them out for links to more blogs! :)

This week's pre-publication "can't wait to read" selection is...




Willa Knight: Dweller. Slave. Non-magical being.

In Minatsol, being a dweller means that you are literally no better than dirt. In fact, dirt might actually be more useful than Willa. Her life will be one of servitude to the sols, the magic-blessed beings who could one day be chosen to become gods.

At least her outer village is far removed from the cities of the sols, and she won’t ever be forced to present herself to them... Until one small mistake changes everything, and Willa is awarded a position to serve at Blesswood, the top sol academy in the world—a position that she definitely did not earn.

Under the sudden, watchful eye of the gods, she will be tasked to serve the Abcurse brothers, five sols built of arrogance, perfection and power. They are almost gods themselves, and under their service she is either going to end up sentenced to death, or else they are going to ruin her so badly that she will wish for it.

Either way, she is in trouble.
Initially, the cover of this one drew me in. Once I read the blurb on the cover I knew this one is for me! I just love stories revolving around magic & curses.

What are you waiting for this week?
Read more »

Friday, February 10, 2017

Book Blast + Giveaway: Returned by Kimberley Griffiths Little











Returned by Kimberley Griffiths Little After tragedy strikes on the day they were to wed, Jayden must support Kadesh as he ascends the throne and becomes king of Sariba. But with the dark priestess Aliyah conspiring to control the crown, and the arrival of Horeb, Jayden’s former betrothed, Kadesh’s kingdom, as well as his status as king, is at stake. Jayden knows that the time to be merciful has come and gone, and that some enemies can only be halted by death. Now she and Kadesh must prepare to fight not only for their love, but also for their kingdom. This is the final book in the epic trilogy that began with Forbidden and Banished. Jayden and Kadesh’s love will be put to the ultimate test as they fight a war to save their kingdom.  

  Praise for the Book   Booklist (starred review) “At its core, this is a romance, with all the push and pull that goes along with impossible love, and Little elevates the story by creating a perilous landscape, both outward and inward, as Jayden must deal with the hardship of desert life as well as her own desires. . . descriptions of the landscape are evocative in both desolation and in beauty. Just as good is the pacing, which gets the blood pumping for both characters and readers. This will heighten anticipation for a no-doubt exciting conclusion.”   Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books “Rich historical details are deftly woven into Jayden’s narration, and the dynamics of Jayden’s tribe are vividly drawn. Jayden’s story becomes as much about finding herself as it is about finding love.”   Reader: “This book took my breath away. I loved the immersive story and the rich setting of ancient Mesopotamia. The customs, traditions, and beliefs of the desert people were captivating and every time I set the book down I couldn't wait to pick it up again. I've never read anything like this before.”   Reader: “Forbidden was so captivating that I awoke early in the morning, while my family was still sleeping, so I could finish the last pages of this beautifully haunting tale.”    



Author Information...
Author Kimberley Griffiths Little Kimberley Griffiths Little is the author of ten award-winning Middle-Grade and Young Adult novels with Knopf, Scholastic and Harpercollins, including the Whitney Award, the Arizona/New Mexico Book Award, the SCBWI Crystal Kite, the Southwest Book Award, and others. ALA BOOKLIST named FORBIDDEN, the first book in her Ancient Mesopotamian historical fantasy a Young Adult Top 10 novel for the Historical category, Romance category, and Religious/Inspirational. Kimberley adores anything old and musty with a secret story to tell. She once stayed in the haunted tower room at Borthwick Castle in Scotland and didn’t sleep a wink; sailed the Seine in Paris; ridden a camel in Petra, Jordan; shopped the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul; and spent the night in an old Communist hotel in Bulgaria. She was born in San Francisco but now lives on the banks of the Rio Grande with her husband and three sons.

Website * Facebook * Twitter


Blast Givewaway...
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 2/27/17 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway
Read more »

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Starfall by Melissa Landers release launch & giveaway!!

STARFALL Launch Blitz & Giveaway


Hi, booklovers!

I’m author Melissa Landers, and I’m so excited to launch STARFALL, the second and final book in my Starflight duology! This story picks up shortly after the first book ends, but now Cassia and Kane are the main characters, with Doran, Solara, and the rest of the Banshee crew pitching in to help take down an intergalactic mafia. (You know, just an ordinary day in space.) And while saying goodbye to characters is never easy, I think I gave the crew a proper sendoff with plenty of humor, heart, and action. I hope you love STARFALL as much as I do!

Haven’t read the first book? You’re in luck, because for a limited time, Starflight is on sale for 99 cents in all e-formats. Now you can binge read the entire duology in one sitting!

Praise for Starflight:


“Smart, action-packed and utterly addictive!” –New York Times bestselling author Amie Kaufman


Starflight has the cinematic appeal, warp-speed action and unlikely heroes of Star Wars.” –Justine Magazine


“A lively tale of romance, space pirates, conspiracy, and made (as opposed to genetic) families.” –Booklist


A great choice for fans of raw sci-fi action, reminiscent of the lawlessness presented in the television series Firefly.” –School Library Journal


If you love sci-fi adventure with a dash of romance, I hope you’ll pick up the Starflight duology today. Starflight and Starfall are both available in stores and online.


STARFLIGHT (book 1)

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2kjs57n
Book Depository (free international shipping): http://bit.ly/1OoN2WD
Indie Bound: http://bit.ly/1IIMPx7

STARFALL (book 2)

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2ddKuih
Book Depository: http://bit.ly/2k98EvN
Indie Bound: http://bit.ly/2dhMLry


To celebrate my book birthday, I’m offering one lucky winner a Starflight duology swag pack, complete with bookmarks and two signed mini posters! The giveaway is open internationally. Due to sweepstakes laws, entrants must be 18 years or older to participate.


Best of luck, and happy reading!




Melissa Landers is a former teacher who left the classroom to pursue other worlds. A proud sci-fi geek, she isn’t afraid to wear her Princess Leia costume in public—just ask her husband and three kids. She lives outside Cincinnati in the small town of Loveland, “Sweetheart of Ohio.” For more information or just to say hello, visit www.melissa-landers.com.

Read more »

Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Blog Tour: {Review} Falling For the Highlander by Lynsay Sands






If there’s one thing Lady Murine will not abide, it’s her virtue being handed over to the highest bidder. When her scoundrel brother does just that—in exchange for a few Scottish horses, no less—she’s appalled, but she refuses to stand by and let it happen. She’s determined to take matters into her own hands, even if it means braving the countryside alone—or worse, with a tempting Scot by her side.

Dougall set out to sell a few horses to an English lord; he never expected he’d help smuggle a beautiful fugitive back to Scotland instead. When her brother offered Lady Murine for a few horses, Dougall was disgusted and promptly turned him down. But encountering the runaway lass on the road out of town sets something pounding in Dougall’s heart. There’s something about this fierce woman that makes him want to do more than just help her escape. He wants to protect her—with his life and his heart.

If Dougall’s not careful, this Scot might just end up tying the knot…

Falling for the Highlander
Highlanders #4
By: Lynsay Sands
Releasing January 31, 2017
Publisher: Avon Books

My Thoughts...

It's been ages since I've read a Highlander Historical Romance, so much so that once I started reading Falling for the Highlander it felt like coming home. I just adored this book! Oh, and you don't need to read the previous books in this series to enjoy this one!

What I liked:
  • The Setting- I naturally gravitate towards stories set in Scotland, so of course, I loved the setting in this one! I also want to mention that Lynsay did a wonderful job with the world building as well, everything felt incredibly realistic! 
  • The Plot- While it wasn't the fastest moving plot out there it was definitely entertaining! If you're looking for a swoon-worthy romance with all of the classic elements, this one is it! 
    • Girl meets Guy, Guy saves Girl. 
    • Plenty of snarky remarks between the two then BAM the sexual tension was practically throwing sparks off of the pages my kindle!
  • Which leads to The Romance- Ahh the heat level in this one was HOT!  I just loved the chemistry between Maureen & Dougall. The whole time their relationship was brewing I just kept thinking they are perfect for one another! Plenty of steamy moments interlaced with wonderful humor! I do hope this couple makes an appearance in the next book in this series! 
    • On a side note, I just want to mention that I'll never look at bread and carrots the same way again!
  • Dougall- He's your classic alpha male but not too alpha if you know what I mean. Also, he's such a gentleman! 
  • Maureen- She's not perfect (I'll talk about that below) but I really loved her values and her willingness to help others no matter what. 
  • Family- I just loved the whole family dynamic in this one. Maureen goes through multiple horrific losses but then she meets Dougall. He has this amazing family and they all ban together to do what's right by helping her get away from her asshole brother. 

What I didn't like:

  • Maureen- First let me say that I did end up liking her after the first 50% or so of the book. Her constant fainting really bothered me, though. 
All in All: If you are looking for a fun, historical romance then this is it! I had so much fun reading this one!



Buy Links:

Author Information...

Lynsay Sands is the nationally bestselling author of the Argeneau/Rogue Hunter vampire series, as well as numerous historicals and anthologies. She's been writing stories since grade school and considers herself incredibly lucky to be able to make a career out of it. Her hope is that readers can get away from their everyday stress through her stories, and if there's occasional uncontrollable fits of laughter, that's just a big bonus. Please visit her on the web.


Giveaway...

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Read more »

Sunday, February 5, 2017

Blog Tour {Review} Trapped In Wonderland by Dani Hoots





Meredith Alice Hughes has found herself falling through a portal and into Wonderland. There, she finds some of her classmates, who are actually fictional characters from Lewis Carroll’s “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland”, and they use a potion to make her forget everything. Everything would have been fine, that is, until the White Rabbit tries to murder her and she finds herself in Wonderland once more. Apparently, according to a prophecy, Alice is the only one who can save Wonderland from the Cirque de Rêves, a group that is trying to destroy and takeover the world. Little does Alice know that not only is Wonderland in danger, but her home world as well, because all the citizens in Wonderland represent the dreams of every living human in the real world, and when they start to disappear, so does the hope of every living thing. Will Alice believe in herself enough to defeat the Cirque de Rêves? Or will she fall victim to the dark thoughts that reside in her heart?

Series: Wonderland Chronicles

Source: Sent by the author in exchange for an honest review

Format: paperback
Pages: 282
Genre: YA Fantasy

Rating: 3.75 stars (rounded to 4 on Goodreads)
Publisher: Dani Hoots
Release Date: February 1st, 2017


My Thoughts...
I just finished Trapped in Wonderland and I must say, the author Dani Hoots has knocked my socks off! I grew up loving the original Alice in Wonderland and this book felt like the perfect continuation of the series! Really, though, can I have more?!

Let's get into why I enjoyed this book...

Just like the original Alice, this Alice is lost not only literally, but she feels misunderstood by her friends & family as well. Really the only person that's there for her is her best friend Kate. Her parents & her sister Lilith don't really understand her. I guess I'd call her the Blacksheep of the family so-to-speak. 

The Worldbuilding was fantastic! Wonderland has gone through an incredible metamorphosis, from the old Red & White Kingdom into the Dream Kingdom, a very prodigious place indeed! Now the villain in this one is the Cirque de Reves and their main goal is to destroy the kingdom, therefore destroying people's dreams in Alice's (or the real-world) world. 

Even the talking flowers make an appearance in Trapped in Wonderland! They aren't exactly friendly, though, more like deadly!
Wondrous Characterization! Speaking of world building, the way in which the characters were written was astounding! Most of the original characters are present, and I loved that they are human-ish! Remember the cat, caterpillar, and the mad hatter? Well...they are all humans with preternatural characteristics.  

A quick note on Alice: I read a few reviews that thought she should have been more shocked when all the weirdness started happening. I actually think her reaction was appropriate considering she thought everything was some sort of dream in the beginning.

Eccentric Plot- Of course it wouldn't be Wonderland otherwise! 

Fragments of charming romance! I loved that there is romance in this one. No it's not centered around it but it's there and it's wonderful! I unquestionably want a sequel because the way this one ended was wonderful but also had a glimpse of Alice and a certain someone!

All in All: I'd most certainly recommend this one to everyone who loves the original Alice in Wonderland (don't worry, it's not a retelling so you don't have to worry about anything being 'ruined', it's more of a continuation), likes fairytales, adventure or you're just in need of something new and different in the YA world!

About Dani...
Dani Hoots is a science fiction, fantasy, romance, and young adult author who loves anything with a story. She has a B.S. in Anthropology, a Masters of Urban and Environmental Planning, and is currently in the Your Novel Year Program through Arizona State University.
Currently, she is working on a YA urban fantasy series called Daughter of Hades, a historic fantasy vampire series called A World of Vampires, and a YA sci-fi series called Sanshlian Series.
Her hobbies include reading, watching anime, cooking, studying different languages, wire walking, tinkering with her violin and concertina, and volunteering at the library. She lives in Seattle with her husband and two cats.
Read more »

Back to Top