Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Lord Fenton's Folly by Josi S. Kilpack- Review & Book Discussion


Lord Fenton's Folly
Author: Josi S. Kilpack
Series: A Proper Romance (bk2)
Release: October 6th 2015
Publisher: Shadow Mountain
Source: I received a copy via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review Genre: YA Historical Romance
Rating: 4 1/2 stars
 *Giveaway @ bottom of this post!* 



Lord Fenton is a gambler, a dandy, and a flirt—and he must marry or else he will be disinherited, stripped of his wealth and his position. He chooses Alice Stanbridge for two simple reasons: he once knew her as a young girl, and she is the least objectionable option available to him. However, Alice has harbored feelings for Fenton since their first meeting ten years ago, and she believes his proposal is real. When she discovers it is not, she is embarrassed and hurt. However, a match with the most-eligible bachelor in London would secure not only her future but that of her family as well. Determined to protect herself from making a fool of herself a second time, Alice matches Lord Fenton wit for wit and insult for insult as they move toward a marriage of convenience that is anything but a happy union. Only when faced with family secrets that have shaped Fenton’s life does he let down his guard enough to find room in his heart for Alice. But can Alice risk her heart a second time?

My thoughts on this historical romance...

Lord Fenton has stolen my heart! Josi S. Kilpack has quickly become one of my favorite Regency Romance authors! She blends wit, humor and sweet romance together beautifully! This is the second book in her A Proper Romance series, the good news is that you do not need to read the first book to enjoy the second! I haven't read the first book and I breezed through this one with no problems! Perfect for fans of Julia Quinn

Lord Fenton's Folly made me laugh so much throughout the story, as I mentioned above my absolute favorite thing about this book was the humor interlaced into the storyline. Not many authors can mix humor along with some serious drama while keeping it properly balanced. 


In the beginning we get to meet the two main characters as children/young-adults. From the get-go you will get a taste of whats to come. Lord Fenton (Charles) meets his match when he encounters Alice. One of my favorite quotes is from the opening chapter: 



"You're lucky God decided to douse your fire, otherwise you'd have burned me up and gone right to hell."

The reason I like the above quote so much is because of Alice's spirited and no-nonsense attitude. I love that she doesn't back down from any of Lord Fenton's antics.

Now as the story progresses we fast-forward 10 years later. Needless to say, Lord Fenton has a huge distaste towards his father. Now I'm not going to tell you why, but I will tell you his crazy antics come about because he's trying to hurt his father, Lord Chariton through embarrassment. Lord Chariton can only take so much, so he gives Lord Fenton an ultimatum, either marry a proper wife and become a proper gentleman or be dis-inherited. What Lord Fenton quickly realized was that he was unknowingly hurting his mother, Lady Chariton, so he quickly agrees. 


Lord Fenton is very close to his mother, I actually talk about is below in Cara & I's discussion


"Their relationship goes to show great love can come out of hardships. What do I mean? Well I believe if it wasn't for Lord Chariton treating Lady Chariton horrifically and being unfaithful, then Charles and his mother wouldn't have been as close. I believe Charles was trying to protect his mother and in doing so they became very close. "


Now the relationship between Lord Fenton and Alice, well they have gone into my "favorite fictional couples of all time" ! Alice has the ability to see right through Lord Fenton's humor. In order to get through some tough times he uses humor, I love that Alice always has a witty retort and that she doesn't back down! They are PERFECT TOGETHER!! The only complaint I have is I wish there was more to the story. I feel as if the author could have added four or five more chapters at the end. So I'm giving Lord Fenton's Folly 4 1/2 stars! If you are in need of a great regency romance this is right up your alley!



Miranda & Carla's Discussion...


I had the pleasure of discussing Lord Fenton's Folly with Carla from Lipstick & Mocha. I don't remember the last time I had giggled so much! Thanks Carla for our virtual hangout and chatting with me! 

Please be aware that there are spoilers below!


Lord Fenton’s Folly a.k.a Lady Chariton’s Miserable LifeMiranda & Carla’s chat
(check out Carla's review here)


  1. If you could ask the author anything what would it be? Hmmm...wonder if she'd be up for an interview…
    1. Carla’s Answer: I'd ask her why she thought it a nice idea to toy with my feelings and give us that ending… Ok, that's why I can't do interviews.
    2. Miranda’s Answer: I'd ask her if she's planning on giving Charles & Alice a second story, or at least a novella. I think it's safe to say, we need more!
    3. Carla: Oh yes, I’d also like to know that!!


  1. What about Lord Fenton's wardrobe... yay or nay?
    1. Carla’s Answer: Hmm I say yay, because it's hilarious! But if I were in Alice's shoes I definitely wouldn't like it!
      1. I could never picture him wearing the outfits the author described!! His style is crazy.
    2. mr_darcy_outfit_by_sarai0989-d35pee6.jpgMiranda’s Answer: OMG, his fascination with fashion cracked me up! One of my favorite parts was when Alice realized he was actually quite handsome when he wasn't dressed like an idiot! I’m imagining Mr. Darcy but more ‘clownish’!
      1. What I imagine he would wear…


  1. What did you think of Lady Chariton's decision to send the maid Mrs Gale to live at Foxmore?
    1. Carla’s Answer: I think Lady Chariton's too nice for her own good, I feel like an awful human being next to her haha. But when she explains why she helped the girl I understood her reasons.
    2. Miranda’s Answer: I'm not sure what my decision would have been had I been in her shoes. It was a different era, and women were looked at differently. Lady Chariton said herself she felt as if Mrs. Gale did not have a choice, being as she was only a servant. She may have been in fear of losing her job if she refused him.


  1. What about Lady Chariton’s decision to send Adam to Foxmore and be raised by Mrs. Banner…
    1. Carla’s thoughts...You know, I actually thought at first that Lady Chariton was forced by her husband to leave their son at that place.
    2. Miranda’s...Me too, but it was a mutual decision. At first I was like "why oh why!" but after thinking upon it I realized she made that decision because she felt he wouldn't be accepted by their society and would lead an un-happy life. I'm still kind of "up in the air" about it, but I feel she made the decision out of love.
    3. Carla… Yes, I was like that too, I really judged her at first! But then she said that and it made a little bit more sense. Although she stopped visiting the boy 😢. But I guess that hurt her too, especially since Adam didn't know she was his mom.


  1. What did you think about the relationship between Lord Fenton and his mother?
    1. Carla’s Answer: I was really surprised about how close they were, and it was kinda sweet.
    2. Miranda’s Answer: Their relationship goes to show great love can come out of hardships. What do I mean? Well I believe if it wasn't for Lord Chariton treating Lady Chariton horrifically and being unfaithful, then Charles and his mother wouldn't have been as close. I believe Charles was trying to protect his mother and in doing so they became very close. I hope all of that makes some sort of sense… Most men that are that close to their mothers, well it's kind of scary and annoying. But I have to agree with Carla, it was really sweet.
    3. Carla Well, that's freaking beautiful.
That just reminded me of something! I really wanted to slap Charles whenever he said he wanted to be a good husband... Because he was still mean to Alice.
    1. Miranda… Exactly! While I think he could have been nicer, I think he second guessed himself as a husband. He was afraid he'd turn out just like his father. While he was mean to Alice, he was never cruel like his father was to Lady Chariton.


  1. Place to put something really random….
    1. IMAG0245_picmonkeyed.jpgMiranda: My cat sleeping …. Okay I am weird & this won’t make the final cut...but hey. :)
    2. Carla: I’m sorry, I just can’t do better than that.
Giveaway!!

Comments

  1. I love your review, it's so happy! :D Hahaha. I had so much fun doing this!! ^-^

    Lipstick and Mocha

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for collaborating with me on the book discussion! It was so much fun! :)

      Delete
  2. Ha, this was really fun to read. I had wondered if the ending felt rushed, I ended up deciding that I'd resolved all the conflicts and so I should end the story. I love that you wanted more. As for toying with your emotions--my mother in law died of cancer a year before I started this book. She was no Lady Chariton, but there was a sweetness in her passing--especially between my husband and her--that really touched me. She's the one the book is dedicated too and revisiting that time through this story was powerful to me. I tried to write the actual 'scene' a few times and couldn't do it, so I had to tell it in flashback. Know that I was crying too. :-) Thanks so much, gals. This was really fun to read. I'll have to think about that novella idea :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for reading my review and Carla and I's discussion on your book! :)
      I love that you dedicated the book to your mother-in-law. Oh and thanks for considering the novella!!

      Delete

Post a Comment

Recent Posts...

Review: The Gender Game by Bella Forrest - Violet is such a strong, brave and amazing character!

Waiting On Wednesday
The Duchess Deal
(Girl Meets Duke #1)
by Tessa Dare